How Many States Are There In India In 2020?

Which are the 9 union territories of India?

Union Territories are: Andaman and Nicobar Islands, Chandigarh, Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu, National Capital Territory of Delhi, Jammu and Kashmir, Lakshadweep, Ladakh and Puducherry..

How many union territories are there in India in 2020?

8 Union TerritoriesAs of 2020 there are 8 Union Territories and 28 states in India.

How many states and union territories are there in India in 2020?

28 statesThere are 28 states and 8 Union territories in the country. Union Territories are administered by the President through an Administrator appointed by him/her.

What is India Capital name?

New DelhiIndia/Capitals

How many countries India have?

India & Its Neighbouring CountriesCountryIndiaNumber of Neighbouring Countries9Length of Land Border15,106.7 kmCoastline7,516.6 km1 more row•Sep 6, 2020

How many states and union territories are there in 2020?

At Present India now has 28 States and 8 Union Territories. The erstwhile state of Jammu and Kashmir has been bifurcated into two Union Territories (UT) of J&K and Ladakh. The newly formed union territories have been formed under a reorganization act passed by the Parliament on 5-6 August 2020.

What is difference between state and union territory?

States have their own elected government that are vested with the powers to frame the laws. An union territory is a small administrative unit that is ruled by the union. The union territories are administered and controlled directly by the Central Government of India. … Union territories do not have autonomous powers.

Which two union territories are recently merged?

Legislation to this effect, the Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu (Merger of Union territories) Bill, 2019, was tabled in the Parliament of India on 26 November 2019 and assented to by the President of India on 9 December 2019.

What are the 28 states of India in 2020?

Here is the list of 28 States in India and Their CapitalsAndhra Pradesh (Hyderabad) … Arunachal Pradesh (Itanagar) … Assam (Dispur) … Bihar (Patna) … Chhattisgarh (Raipur) … Gujarat (Gandhinagar) … Haryana – Chandigarh (Shared with Punjab) … Himachal Pradesh (Shimla)More items…

What is the name of our state?

StatesState name (# on map)Name in state’s official languageKarnataka (11)ಕರ್ನಾಟಕ (Kannada)Kerala (12)കേരളം (Malayalam)Madhya Pradesh (13)मध्य प्रदेश (Hindi)Maharashtra (14)महाराष्ट्र (Marathi)24 more rows

Who is CM of all state?

Chief MinistersStateChief MinisterKarnatakaSri B. S. YediyurappaKeralaShri Pinarayi VijayanMadhya PradeshShri Shivraj Singh ChouhanMaharashtraShri Uddhav Thackeray25 more rows

How many states in India write their names?

28 statesIndia is a union of 28 states and 8 union territories in the country….List of 28 States and Capitals of India 2021.Sl.No.2StatesArunachal PradeshCapitalItanagarFounded on20 Feb. 198727 more columns

What are the 9 Union territories and their capitals?

Category:Indian Union Territory capitalsUnion Territory of Andaman and Nicobar Islands — Port Blair.Union Territory of Chandigarh — Chandigarh.Union Territory of Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu — Daman.Union Territory of Lakshadweep — Kavaratti.National Capital Territory of Delhi — New Delhi.Union Territory of Puducherry — Pondicherry.More items…

How many union territories in India with their name?

8 Union TerritoriesIndia has a total of 8 Union Territories and 28 states. The 8 Union territories in India include Delhi, Jammu & Kashmir, Ladakh, Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu, Puducherry, Chandigarh, An (Read More)

Why is Delhi a state and union territory?

The States Reorganisation Act, 1956 created the Union Territory of Delhi from its predecessor, the Chief Commissioner’s Province of Delhi. … The Act gave Delhi its own legislative assembly along Civil lines, though with limited powers.

What are the 29 states and 7 union territories?

There are 29 states and seven Union territories in the country. Let’s take a look at the states and their capitals.Andhra Pradesh – Amravati. Amravati city plan. ( … Arunachal Pradesh – Itanagar. … Assam – Dispur. … Bihar – Patna. … Chhattisgarh – Atal Nagar (Naya Raipur) … Goa – Panaji. … Gujarat – Gandhinagar. … Haryana – Chandigarh.More items…•Sep 22, 2018

How many districts are there in India in 2020?

718 DistrictsThere are 718 Districts in India administered by their respective State/ UT Government. Districts is an endeavour of NIC to provide a one-stop source for all the information about Districts at one place on the web.

How many cities are in India?

46 millionAccording to the 2011 census, there were 46 million-plus cities in India, with Mumbai, Delhi and Kolkata having populations over 10 million.

Which is the 29th state in India?

TelanganaTelangana was created on 2 June 2014 as ten former districts of north-western Andhra Pradesh.

How many types of union territories are there?

two typesThere are two types of Union Territories in India. These are: 1- Union Territories with Legislature– Delhi, Jammu and Kashmir, and Puducherry. 2- Union Territories without Legislature– Andaman and Nicobar, Chandigarh, Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu, Ladakh, and Lakshadweep.

How many states are there in up 2020?

Uttar Pradesh, the most populous state in India, has 75 districts.